Catholic Health Alliance of Canada
About Us Newsroom Strategic Directions Resources Job Postings Search Contact Us Home



About Us

      Print this page



Mission

Vision

Values

History

Governing Council

Strategic Plan

Job Postings

Alliance Directory

History of the CHAC

On June 15, 1939, at a meeting held in Milwaukee of the Catholic Hospital Association of the United States and Canada (CHAUSC), two Canadian religious sisters and two Canadian priests, who were delegates at the meeting, met with a specific goal in mind – to form a Canadian Council of the CHAUSC.

The formation of the council was based on a number of fundamental considerations: respect for Canada’s francophone community and the regional composition of Canada. The council was intended to concern itself exclusively with the problems affecting Canadian Catholic hospitals.

The first elections of the Council took place in the fall of 1939 in Toronto. Many consider this to be the foundation date for the CHAC. However, it was not until 1942 that the Catholic Hospital Council of Canada (CHCC) was founded as a completely independent organization.

In 1954, The name was changed to the Catholic Hospital Association of Canada (CHAC). In 1963 long term care facilities were invited to become members of the CHAC. To reflect this new composition of membership, the name of the organization was changed again in 1976 to its present title, the Catholic Health Association of Canada.

In 2006 the CHAC developed a new mission statement – to strengthen and support the ministry of Catholic health care organizations and providers. Its new mandate centres on two main activities:

  1. Advocacy: to be the national voice of Catholic health care organizations; and
  2. Governance: to foster the distinctive mission and organizational culture of Catholic health care organizations.

On April 24, 2009, after 7 months of study and consultation, the CHAC Board of Directors presented to the delegates at the Annual Meeting, a proposal for the redesign of the national association. The proposal reflected a consensus that it was necessary to change the structures that exist at the national level to better support the mission and ministry of Catholic health care in Canada.

The proposal represented a fundamental shift in that it called for the national association model to be replaced by a forum or alliance of the Catholic health care Sponsor organizations. The proposal highlighted the leadership responsibility, and accountability for the ministry, that rest with the Sponsors.

The proposal was unanimously approved by the delegates at the Annual Assembly. With that vote the Catholic Health Association of Canada ceased to exist. It was replaced by a new organization -- the Catholic Health Alliance of Canada. During 2009-2010 the Association offices that had existed at the Diocesan Centre in Ottawa were closed, A new governance and operational structure was established for the new organization. This structure was put into place in 2010 at which time the new Alliance established an office at St. Vincent's Hospital in Ottawa (part of Bruyère Continuing Care).

Faithful to a mission
Faithful to the Mission
Fifty Years of the Catholic Health Association of Canada
1939-1989
by André Cellard & Gérald Pelletier
Compendium cover

A Compendium of the Catholic Health Association of Canada
by Greg J. Humbert

nurse image

The Great Canadian Catholic Hospital History Project

History Book Cover

Catholic Hospital Books/Booklets Digital Project

Alliance catholique canadienne de la santé
L'ACCS Nouvelles Orientations stratégiques Ressources Recherche Nous joindre Accueil



L'ACCS

      Imprimer cette page



Mission

Vision

Valeurs

Histoire de l'ACCS

Conseil de direction

Emplois

Répertoire de l'Alliance

Histoire

Le 15 juin 1939, deux religieuses et deux prêtres du Canada délégués à une rencontre de l’Association des hôpitaux catholiques des États-Unis et du Canada (CHAUSC) qui se tenait à Milwaukee ont tenu une réunion avec un objectif précis en tête : former un conseil canadien de la CHAUSC.

La création de ce conseil découlait de certains motifs fondamentaux : le respect des collectivités francophones et de la composition régionale du Canada. Ce conseil devait s’occuper uniquement des problèmes qui affligeaient les hôpitaux catholiques canadiens.

À l’automne 1939, le nouveau conseil a tenu ses premières élections à Toronto. On considère généralement que cette date constitue l’acte de fondation de l’ACCS. Toutefois, ce n’est qu’en 1942 que le Conseil des hôpitaux catholiques du Canada est devenu un organisme entièrement indépendant.
 
En 1954, cet organisme a changé de nom pour devenir l’Association des hôpitaux catholiques du Canada (AHCC). En 1963, les établissements de soins de santé de longue durée ont pu en devenir membres. Pour reflĂ©ter l’ajout de cette nouvelle catĂ©gorie de membres, l’organisme a changĂ© de nouveau de nom en 1976 pour devenir l’Association catholique canadienne de la santĂ©.

En 2006, l’ACCS s’est dotée d’un nouvel énoncé de mission : renforcer et soutenir le ministère des organismes et des fournisseurs de soins de santé catholiques. Son nouveau mandat est axé sur deux grands pôles d’activités :

  1. activités d’intervention publique – agir comme porte-parole national des organismes catholiques de soins de santé;
  2. gouvernance – mettre de l’avant la mission et la culture organisationnelle distinctes des organismes catholiques de soins de santé.

Le 24 avril 2009, après sept mois d’étude et de consultation, le conseil d’administration de l’ACCS a soumis une proposition aux délégués à l’assemblée générale annuelle pour restructurer l’association nationale. Cette proposition reflétait un consensus selon lequel il fallait changer les structures en place à l’échelle nationale en vue de bien soutenir la mission et le ministère des soins de santé catholiques au Canada.

La proposition représentait un changement fondamental puisqu’elle préconisait le remplacement du modèle d’association nationale par un forum ou une alliance d’organismes parrains des soins de santé catholiques. Elle mettait au premier plan le rôle moteur qui incombe aux parrains ainsi que la responsabilité à l’égard du ministère qui leur revient.

Les délégués à l’assemblée générale annuelle ont adopté à l’unanimité cette proposition. Ainsi, l’Association catholique canadienne de la santé a cessé d’exister et un nouvel organisme est né sous le nom d’Allliance catholique canadienne de la santé. Au cours de l’exercice 2009–2010, on a fermé le bureau situé au Centre diocésain d’Ottawa. En 2010, on a mis en place une nouvelle structure de gouvernance et de fonctionnement et la nouvelle Alliance s’est installée dans un bureau à l’Hôpital Saint-Vincent à Ottawa (rattaché à Soins continus Bruyère).

nurse image
L'histoire de l'Association catholique canadienne de la santé
Fidèles à une mission
André Cellard et Gérald Pelletier
Compendium cover

A Compendium of the Catholic Health Association of Canada [Disponible en anglais seulement ]
by Greg J. Humbert

nurse image

Projet de la Grande Histoire des hôpitaux catholiques au Canada

History Book Cover

Projet de numérisation des livres et fascicules
sur les hôpitaux catholique